About Me

Hi, everyone! To begin, my name is Aimee Nicole Barfuss (formally Aimee Nicole Konewko). I recently got married to a wonderful man named Byron on September 1st of this year.  I am the second oldest child. I have two wonderful parents whom I look up to and I would consider to be my heroes.

Byron and me(:

I am living in Moscow and working on completing my second year of college. I completed my first year at Brigham Young University-Idaho and was planning on graduating from there with a degree in Social Work. Plans changed when Byron (who attended and still attends U of I) proposed, and I decided to transfer to be with him (obviously!). It turns out that there isn’t a Social Work program at the University of Idaho, so I’m deciding to pursue a different degree which is closely related–Sociology.

That is a beginning introduction into why I am interested in Sociology. I find Sociology and Psychology to be extremely intriguing. I love to learn how things work, especially something as complex as the human mind and society. Learning about the different theories that can potentially explain why people do or don’t do certain things and how people function together to create society are just some things that I find exciting. Essentially, Sociology is just something that I love and I always told myself that I would pursue a career (or even just a degree) in something that I love.

I chose this picture to represent, what I feel, is the power of Sociology. I feel that the more we grow to understand how people behave and function in society, the more we can learn about how to create unity among people. I think that it is through Sociology and other fields of study that we, as people, can come closer to truly attaining “unity within diversity”.

Leave a comment